Like sunshine on the water, it was too bright to see

The love that you said you felt just for me

I tried hard to search, but it never was clear

I was too blind to see that there was nothing really there

Sunlight hits waves before they crash on the shore

Your love came in waves, each day stronger than before,

But never lasting long, gone as fast as it came

Leaving me longing as I tried to feel the same

Every touch is cold, kisses salty on my lips

In and out it goes, closer, further as tides flip

You slip through my hands, leaving nothing once it dries

As the sun shines on the water, I should have known to shade my eyes

Leave a Reply

