I check my watch. It’s just about time

The clouds are clearing, and the stars align

In perfect patterns, like they did before

This is our D-Day, the end of a war

And I know, I know, that I’ve done a lot wrong

No one will miss me when I am gone

But the heat of battle still rages fresh

And I celebrate tonight without regrets

I would let it go, but it doesn’t feel right

To live in the day while forgetting the night

I wouldn’t dwell on the past, but the scars from the fight

Are wrapped around my heart, and squeeze it tight

And the pain stuck there forces me to remember

Even the smallest wars change people forever

So I take a step forward, toe-to-toe on the line,

But steady as ever, living on borrowed time

Leave a Reply

