A.N. This is a bit different; changed the rhyme scheme and the metre is more free verse than usual.

I see him there, poised to kill,

Perched on the rooftop high above.

But his rifles don’t scare me,

I don’t take orders, save from my heart.

I’m on a mission to love.

And the world turns faster up here, somehow,

All drenched in sleet and rain.

The thunder mimics my heart’s own beat

In a vicious symphony, almost a battle

Can I love through this pain?

He takes his shot, and doesn’t miss,

But I’m down here, walking still.

He shot my brains out, and I’m lost

But my heart still beats. I love him,

And I think I always will.

 

Leave a Reply

