I run against the rising tide

Beating down breakers without breaking my stride

Choking on salt in the foggy air

Do you feel the breeze? It’s the wind of despair

Everything cracks and falls out of place

It’s a fight that I’ll lose, there’s no saving grace

But I’ll fight to the end, with both fists held high

And I’ll haunt them in death with the strength of my life

The jail bars rattle with every tug

They’re rusty and brittle, but they don’t budge

I hear the dark shadows rustle and moan

I chase after sounds, but I find I’m alone

Everything’s breaking inside of my head

I try to keep fighting, but the spirit is dead

I’m floundering, lost, as they laugh and stare

How can I breathe when I’m choking on air?

Leave a Reply

