i look at the stars, and hear all the screams

of anguish and grief that cut through my dreams

i see them in daylight, and live through the nights

when stardust and moonlight burn torches of fright

it’s all in my head. i know what they say

it’s just a phase, dear. it will soon end, one day

but i just keep dreaming of monsters too real

they’re a reflection of me, and all that i feel

they appear in my head, and to torture and haunt

they show all that i am, while hiding all that i want

and i can’t escape, no, i can’t be set free

these nightmares, these monsters, they keep stalking me

and even in dreams, they follow me there

though there’s nothing to touch. they’re made of pure air.

Leave a Reply

