It was dark and quiet on the maternity floor

I glanced at the clock; it read quarter to four

I took one step forward, but it felt like ten back

My body was aching; I yearned to relax

But I had a mission, one I held in my hands

If anyone had seen, they wouldn’t understand

But I had a pen, a pad of paper, and a thought

And I had a story to write down before it was lost

But as I walked along the corridor there

A strange sight froze my feet, and I stared

A new mother was rocking her baby to sleep

A mother was singing! The sound made me weep

A mother was cradling an infant, her child

And she sang a sad song softly, as it cried

I’ll love you forever, I’ll always love you

I’ll love you regardless, it’s what mothers do

I’ll love you far more than you’ll ever believe

I’ll love you forever, though you’ll stop loving me

But when will it happen, that your love will take flight?

Will it run undercover, like a thief in the night?

Or will it be gradual, a heart’s radioactive decay?

Will it burst like a grenade, or softly slip away?

But how long will you love me? How long will this last?

Your loving little eyes will soon be a memory from the past

But do we have months? Years? Decades? Or just days?

How long will it be before your love runs away?

Will you love me in the morning? Will you love me through the night?

Will you love me when I’m wrong? Will you love me when we fight?

Will you love me when you’re older? What about when you’re in school?

And when they tease you, darling, will loving me still be ‘cool’? 

And when you leave the nest, will you love me then?

Or will I fade to a memory as your brand new life begins?

Will you love me in our darkest days, when there’s no sign of dawn?

And will you still love me, my darling, even after I am gone?

I’d never heard this song before, and the tears came thick and fast

I’d forgotten what I meant to do, but thoughts like mine never last

And so I took my pen and pad and jotted down her words

I wrote until my hand shook so hard the words were blurred

And then I sat and listened again to the song that she was singing

And until the dawn’s first rays broke, I heard her voice ringing

I’ll love you forever, I’ll always love you

I’ll love you regardless, it’s what mothers do

I’ll love you far more than you’ll ever believe

I’ll love you forever, though you’ll stop loving me

Will you love me when you’re angry? What about when you’re blue?

Will you love me when you think I don’t know what you’re going through?

Will you love me when I’m angry? When I’m sick? When I’m wrong?

And will you still love me, darling, even after I am gone?

 

Leave a Reply

