in burning dreams the walls collapse

a fire-fall of glass and ash

the room is filled with soot and smoke

my thorax burns i gasp and choke

i can’t escape it’s all around

i try to scream but there’s no sound

the red-gold flames creep everywhere

and my eyes open

but

there’s nothing there

 

so then i wake and walk and work

where flameless fires always lurk

they creep around the words they say

they creep around me every day

they burn their pattern in my brain

the searing pain turns me insane

so that whenever i close my eyes

i see fire

burn

through its disguise

Leave a Reply

