And, on the bed, the patient is crying

He’s screaming out, “God, I think that I’m dying!”

But I stand there, watch his blood pressure drop

He’s bleeding too fast, and it just won’t stop

The nurses shout, “Sir, try to keep breathing!”

But his wound is too deep. It just keeps bleeding.

He’s been stabbed twice. Is he going to die?

I can feel tears filling both of my eyes.

I see his chart sitting there on the table

I want to say something, but I know I’m not able

To say anything right now. My voice is long gone.

I’m far too scared. All of this feels so wrong.

I shouldn’t be here. I have no purpose, no place

Among all of these people in this hallowed, healing space

Or this place of mourning, as it soon will be.

The tears start to creep out. I can no longer see.

But then she walks in, pure poise and grace

A soft smile graces her exhausted face

The chaos is rampant all around

But she takes control without making a sound

And she is so patient, so gentle, so kind!

She looks at the chart. Soon, tasks are assigned.

We rush him downstairs to the operating room

A terrifying place that I’ve never been to

It’s two in the morning, but she never once slips

While I’m stupid and clumsy and falter and trip

But she doesn’t mind. She speaks to me, too!

She gives me a purpose, tells me what to do.

She always stands up, confident and tall

She stays in control. She doesn’t panic at all.

The patient is bleeding, but she isn’t scared.

She just takes his hand, lets him know that she’s there.

Under the OR lights, even her hands glow bright

And, like an angel in the night, she rescues a life

Leave a Reply

