She holds a fire in her hands

That she wields far better than I can

And with that fire, she brings me pain

Like summer showers herald rain

She drenches me and burns my heart

She beats me senseless, and it’s hard

To see her with those other men

When I know I’d be true to him

But he won’t see me next to her

No one would. See how she burns?!

She captivates them, even me

She’s all that anyone wants to see

Some days I wish she’d go to hell

Or run away with someone else

Then I might hope to stand a chance

To catch his eye with a lingering glance

But until that time, I’ll watch and mourn

As she wields a fire that shines and burns

Leave a Reply

