It was the night that I lay dying

The people around me all were crying

But they were strangers I didn’t know

I was safe in my bed, but I had to go

Every breath that I took burnt deep inside

Every heartbeat felt electrified

I could feel my bones shaking the frame of the bed

The sound would only stop when I was dead

In the window I saw them, there in the sky

The twinkles of starlight. They made me cry.

How could they mock me with such reckless glee

They’d live forever, much longer than me!

They didn’t know anything of my painful end

They waltzed in the heavens among all of their friends

I fixated on one, but, as soon as I did

I saw it twinkle out. It, too, was dead.

Leave a Reply

