I thought I’d been stung, but it was only my heart

That same bleeding pulp that you twice tore apart

And now that it’s over, and now that I’m dead,

Is there any trace of regret left in your head?

My casket is empty. There’s nothing inside,

Not even a body to show that I’ve died

The flames are so friendly, they rise thick and fast

They burn in a passion, but, like love, they don’t last

My body was too haggard, in any case, for show

It was putrid and rotten, just like you left my soul

I loved you to pieces, but you loved me in name

And you broke me apart when I saw through your games

But I couldn’t live on while you brushed me off

So I made the decision to make the pain stop!

The gasoline stunk, but the fire was insane

All of the memories flew straight from my brain

And, right at the end, when the flames reached my heart

I saw a bee flying, and I felt the tears start

I thought I’d been stung, but now I can see

That that much pain couldn’t come from a bee

It was my heart I felt burning, and all of the love

That I borne for you, that the flames rid me of

And, now that it’s over, I can finally see

The monster you were, and the one you made me

And though you might come back to kill me again

I know I’ll be strong, for I’ve been through the end

…but who would have thought that I’d only see

Through all this pain

with the help of a bee?

Leave a Reply

