i close my eyes and see the light

inside her lantern, burning bright

her dark hair curls into the night

but her dress is glowing, starry white

the water spills around her feet

and i see the tide invade the street

her lantern swells with flaming heat

as the darkness struggles to compete

she lights my way when i am lost

when my hands are chapped by frost

when my body can’t bear the cost

when i have no options to exhaust

then i see her, inside my eyes

her lantern lights the darkened skies

the water drowns my ebbing cries

and i see her, as my body dies

Leave a Reply

