I walk beside a ghost sometimes

But the hand he holds, it isn’t mine

He reminds me of those happier times

Of the life I lived before my crime

He walks through walls, and memories

He walks through me, and I start to bleed

I killed him once, I killed him twice

His heart turned cold and hard, like ice

We loved each other in the past

But, like a heartbeat, it couldn’t last

I killed for love, he died from pain

He broke my trust, I took the blame

But when I could not take it anymore

I left his body on the floor

And now I see his ghost, sometimes

He holds her hand. No, not mine.

Even when he stands near me

It isn’t where he wants to be

Though I beg him to come back, one last time

I know his cold, hard heart isn’t mine

Leave a Reply

