My life was beautiful, but then it stopped

Time passed slowly. With every tick of the clock,

I aged a bit more, as I gave into sin

Because time moves faster when the devil’s let in

Oh, don’t turn your back! Please, I’ve done nothing wrong!

It’s hard, when you’re lonely, to stand tall and strong

The devil is tempting, even more so at nights

When the stars have steel hearts, and you’re shunned by their light

Oh, no, it’s not wrong to trade heartache for pain

Because pain can be handled by turning insane

Oh, yes, once you’re crazy, there’s no turning back

The bulbs are all blown, you’re on a straight track

You’ll go straight to Hell, where all sinners go,

No one will stop you because nobody knows

There’s no distractions, no warnings, only you and the night

And a pen, and a paper, and a story. Now write.

2 thoughts on “Melancholy

  1. Very thoughtful poem, an enjoyable read. I’ve followed and ill be sure to check out some of your other posts. I’m a fellow writer myself and would love to get your feedback on some of my posts if you have time. I’m working on a novel currently and I post short stories on my blog. If not, thanks anyway, have fun writing and keep it up 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

