I’m a stranger in a foreign land

Their words and gestures, I don’t understand

Their hair and eyes are light and free

They speak of hope, and liberty

They sing of peace and rights for all

But they can’t hear me when I call

They don’t think of rights for me

Of my dreams and equality

Wherever I go, they stop and stare

And I hear their whispers everywhere

But I walk on and shrug it off

Though their echoes jeer and scoff

I can’t pretend that it doesn’t sting

Their voices in my mind still ring

And a world of pain spins through my heart

As their eyes probe and rip me apart

And I might lie as life goes on

Laugh and love like nothing’s wrong

But they will suspect, and I know they can see

This devil of difference who has grown out of me

Horns made of bias, and eyes made from hate

A tail from the friendship that came a little too late

Scales from the stereotypes written in steel

Run away now, or you might become my next meal

Don’t pause here to know me, I’m only a face

A fish out of water, in some foreign place

I don’t belong with you, but I don’t have a choice

So I’ll stand and sing until someone hears my voice

Leave a Reply

