She enters the room, beauty and grace

Long, soft curls framing her face

Black leather boots and a knitted shawl

The picture of poise, strong and tall

My eyes follow her as she moves through the room

From her desk to the board, a cloud of perfume

A strange spicy smell, sickly and sweet

Reminds me of shortbread and holiday treats

Her hair is still damp from the snowflakes outside

The glittering drops shine in the light

And through her snowy lashes, I see winter eyes

Fresh from the cold, reflecting the skies

She’s a stranger to me, but, soon, I’ll know her well

The burdens she bears, she won’t ever tell

But she’ll hide them all beneath a smile and a song

And, through her strength, I’ll find the courage to finally move on

Leave a Reply

